Scoot no More!

Since adopting Divinity, she has had two serious bouts of scooting after having her glands externally expressed. The first time this happened, I thought it was a fluke, but two days after her second external expression, Divinity starting scooting again! The last time, I watched while the person expressed her glands externally, so I know it was done correctly. Unfortunately, it was off to the vet again who expressed her glands internally, and then home to administer some Preparation-H to sooth my Cairn Terrier’s bottom.

My vet said the groomer did nothing wrong, and that most dogs are able to have their glands expressed “externally.” However, my vet explained that Divinity is physically built in such a way that when pressing her anal glands together from the outside, they do not empty completely, which leads to her scooting again soon thereafter.

On my vet’s suggestion, I give Divinity a heaping teaspoon of plain canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix) with every meal and that helps to express her glands naturally with every BM.

Now that I know, Divinity will have an internal expression only which will prevent much anguish on my part, and save a lot of pain on Divinity’s.

Leave a Reply

