Allergies

Divinity has recently developed more food allergies.  This is allergy round three.

The first round was when I adopted her.  Her vet noticed her reddish discolored feet which the vet said was a sign of allergy problems. This discoloration occurs when Divinity licks her feet a lot.

 

Round one: Divinity had been fed a high-quality ocean fish diet which she enjoyed. Unfortunately, the ocean fish did not go well with her.  I changed her diet and she improved rapidly.

Round two: This occurred about a year ago when she started having problems with one food she had been eating for more than a year. Again, I changed her food and she was fine.

Round three. Lately, I changed Divinity’s evening treat from a regular Greenies to Senior Greenies. I’ve noticed that once again Divinity has been licking her feet a lot and her feet have become reddish in color.  During a visit to my local Chuck & Don’t pet store, I spoke with one of the sales people who mentioned that Senior Greenies have a lot of wheat in them. I stopped the Senior Greenies, her licking is subsiding, and her feet are beginning to look better.

The above picture of Divinity was taken by Anna, Divinity’s groomer before I adopted her. This picture was taken while Divinity was on her ocean fish diet, and you can see her red feet.

3 responses

  1. Divinity’s Dad: To help, rinse Divinity’s feet in full strength GOLD Listerine – it can be generic but only the GOLD. Repeat as needed.
    Divinity is so beautiful!
    Karen G
    Col. Potter Cairn Rescue Network

  2. You mean I can’t use the Winter Green variety and have her feet smelling minty fresh?

    Thanks for the information! I’m heading to Walmart in a bit and will buy some “GOLD Listerine” while I am there.

  3. I so enjoy Divinity’s adventures. She seems to be such a sweet girl. My cairn Princess Maisie has itchy feet from Spring to Fall due to pollen, grass things, etc. She gets 1/4 Zyrtec pill (a people allergy pill) daily. She also struts her stuff through a kiddie pool with about 2 inches of water and this rinses of the pollen, etc. Previously I tried soaking her feet in Listerine Gold, but it didn’t make much difference for her itchies. Hope this is helpful.

    Sheryl in WInthrop, MA with cairns Murry and Princess Maisie

Leave a Reply

