Dealing with Divinity’s Death – Part 1

Followers of Divinity’s blog have asked me to post on this specific subject, among other topics. As writing about Divinity’s loss is painful to me, I will be publishing about this subject in separate “installments,”” and the posts following this one, might well be on other topics.

I will not publish new posts in chronological order. Whatever subject is comfortable for me at that particular time, will be the topic of the post that gets published.

So let us begin…

Since Divinity’s euthanization, there have been moments I have been “testy.” Fortunately, right now, I am in a position to be by myself, so no one is on the receiving end of my occasional “attitude.”

When I returned home the day Divinity was euthanized, I sat at my computer in a daze. The one thing that kept me going that day, was watching the visitor count of how many people visited Divinity’s blog. The sheer volume of people who came to pay their respects to my little lady took me aback. In the first few days, more than “one thousand” people visited the blog; hundreds more have come to pay their respects since that fateful day. Divinity was important to more people, than I could possibly have imagined.

Divinity was euthanized on Wednesday, September, 10th. Two days later, I began to thoroughly clean my apartment. From vacuuming, cleaning out closets, dusting everything in sight, to washing walls, floors, and woodwork. Even the inside, and underneath the refrigerator received a thorough cleaning. Every day for the next week and a half was spent cleaning. If I was cleaning, I was not thinking about my loss, and thinking about losing Divinity, was far too painful to bear.

Several times during those first two weeks, I went for walks. Walks were something Divinity and I enjoyed for five years. However, after Divinity developed cancer, our long walks stopped, and in her final months, Divinity had difficulty walking at all.

It has now been more than three weeks since I lost my little lady. My apartment is clean, and I have too much time to think. I run errands as much as possible. However, there are only so many errands to run.

After completing the house cleaning, it was time to begin sorting. First on the agenda was Divinity’s belongings. What items to keep, what to give away, and which items to dispose of as they were either too worn out for another dog to use, or far too deteriorated to keep as a memento.

Note: Divinity’s belongings will be the subject of several posts in the future.

To be continued…

One response

  1. I know you have already heard this statement but—–(been there and done that) after I had to help my beautiful Sheltie cross RB after having her for nearly 16yrs.

Leave a Reply

