Grain-Free, Blueberry and Banana Dog Cookies

Blueberry and Banana Dog Cookies

 

The following recipe is from the K9 Instinct website.

This recipe is super easy to make, very inexpensive and healthy for your dog! Having control over your dog’s treats makes all the difference in the world. You can control the quality, the ingredients and the nutrition factor of your best friend’s snacks! That means the world these days with all the recalls on store bought dog treats that have been going on lately.

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cup of coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup of smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup of mashed blueberries
  • 1/2 cup of mashed bananas
  • 4 eggs
    Note: One person commented that two eggs worked better for her than four. Try it both ways, just remember to share the cookies with your pet!
  • 1/3 cup of warm water
DIRECTIONS
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the coconut flour, peanut butter, crushed blueberries, mashed banana, eggs and water. Mix thoroughly, add more water if it is too dry.
  3. Roll out your cookie dough and use a cookie cutter to cut out shapes, or place on a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper in your size and shape of preference.
  4. Bake in the oven for 22 minutes.

NOTE: Feel free to browse the rest of Divinity’s blog. You’ll find information on K9 cancer, Senior dogs, K9 dementia, as well as additional dog treat recipes and other information.

To get to the home page, click the following link Miss Divinity’s home page.

23 responses

    • Hi Amy,
      I can’t honestly say as I don’t have a cookie-cutter, and my cookies are the size of small pancakes. I looked on the web but couldn’t find a count for this recipe.

      Sorry!

    • Hi Amy, I’m not sure how long they would last, but considering that the recipe uses fresh fruit and no preservatives I wouldn’t want to keep them more than a few days in the fridge.

      Maybe cutting the recipe in half might be best for you.

  1. Pingback: WordPress reviews Divinity’s blog for 2015 « Divinity

  2. my cookies didn’t turn out. :( too moist and then cakey? not sure what i did wrong but regardless, Sherlock will enjoy them! :)

    • Ok I just finished making these and I only used 2 eggs,but blueberries added way to much moisture ( I used minis), and I didn’t use the water PB made dough sticky finally,I wasn’t going to give up I ended up using 4 cups of flour..a mess later 2 dozen bone cookie cutter later..enough dough to make some little snack size,(which i put int the fridge to harden a bit)maybe about 3 dozen..they are baking right now and smell yummy..But I think somehow the recipes got mixed up,I notice in the pic above the recipe ,little flakes of orange.??

      • Hi Sylvia,
        Did you mash the blueberries before you measured them? After they’re mashed, they add a lot of juice which might be the problem.

    • No, my mistake, I’m about to make another batch..Gracie’s supply is out and Angels did not get picked up by my Granddaughter until 3 weeks later..They kept nicely in the fridge..I tasted them after they cooled and they were delicious..The doggies so loved them also..lol

  3. I just tried this recipe with 2 eggs, based on comments made) they turned out great! My dog loves them :) Definitely making another batch. Thanks for sharing this with us!!

  4. Pingback: Bloomberry Bark - July is Blueberry Month

  5. Pingback: Dog Treat Recipe Posts « Divinity

    • This i just a guess, but as there are no preservatives I wouldn’t think more than a few days to a week per batch if they’re kept in the fridge

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Gluten-Free Dog Treat Recipes - Metro East RBA

  7. Pingback: Are Blueberries Safe for Dogs? | EverydayKnow.com

  8. Ok so here I’am again..Making Grace ,Angel and Riley’s these treats..I bought 100 % Coconut flour ,and making a double batch,first batch out of the oven and they are tastie (I tried one) but just want to say if your going to double the batch, don’t forget to double the eggs ,I only use 2 per batch..so mine came out a little granie..But I will try until I get it right..The Doggies love them.

Leave a Reply

