Senior Sunday – Young at Heart Pet Rescue

This weeks Senior Sunday post focus’ on the Young at Heart Pet Rescue in Palatine IL.

Note: In memory of my beloved Maine Coon cat, Little Minx, this week’s Senior Sunday post will include senior cats!

From the Young at Heart Pet Rescue website

Young at Heart is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to saving the lives of senior pets. Young at Heart rescues 100% of our senior pets from open-door shelters, reducing the euthanasia rate for adoptable senior pets at area shelters. Young at Heart also provides community outreach to help keep senior pets out of shelters in the first place, from providing pet food to low-income food pantries, to educating the public on senior pet care, to helping other organizations network their senior pets.

Young At Heart does not have a shelter facility, but saves lives through the use of donated boarding and foster homes throughout the Chicagoland area. We have a small donated adoption centers for cats inside Best Friends Pet Care in Prairie View, IL and Petco in Lake Zurich, IL.

Note: In 2017, Young At Heart Pet Rescue will be opening Chicago’s first adoption center and sanctuary specifically for senior dogs and cats on 8-acres purchased in unincorporated Woodstock, IL!

 


Seniors have a lot to offer, we just need to be willing to watch, listen, and learn… (Divinity’s Dad, 2012)

Note: Please share this post on your social media so that others can learn about these wonderful senior dogs. It’s the only way to spread the word about these seniors who need homes.


 

Here are some, but not all of the senior dogs currently available for adoption from Young at Heart Pet Rescue.

 

Martha

Martha

I’m Martha, a gorgeous and sweet All-American Mutt! My adorable frosted mug will win your heart over the minute you meet me, and if that doesn’t win you over, my sweet demeanor will. I’m a healthy girl with a bit of arthritis, so I am taking daily medication to help me be more comfortable. I will need a quieter home, and love to be with you, so I would make a nice companion for someone who is home a lot.

To learn more about Martha, click the link to her Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page

 

Tinkerbelle

Tinkerbelle

My name is Tinkerbelle, and I am a social and talkative 10-year-old little girl. I would love a very quiet home with an adult or retired person where I can enjoy a relatively predictable lifestyle and where peace and quiet reign. Once I am settled into my new home, you will find that I am a happy and talkative kitty who is very social and loving. I might even do well with one other chill kitty friend.

To learn more about Tinkerbelle, click the link to her Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page

 

Murray

Murray

Howdy folks! I’m Murray, and if you are looking for a happy dog to bring a smile to your face, then I’m your guy! I’m a very sweet boy who is enjoys other dogs, but definitely cannot be around kitties. I’m pretty sure they taste like chicken. I am a healthy boy. The rescue is just getting to know me in my foster home, and will post more as they learn more.

To learn more about Murray, click the link to his Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page

 

Sadie Lou

Sadie Lou

I’m Sadie Lou, the world’s most wonderful 10+ year old pittie girl! I am sooooo sweet and absolutely adore everyone I meet. I am such a good girl that, prior to coming to Young at Heart, I was the dog that little kids got to walk at the shelter! I’m wonderful on a leash and very laid back. I’m good with other dogs and good with kitties, too! I’m house trained (but will need a little patience adjusting to your schedule at first) and am very happy snuggling up on the couch with you. I would do best in a home where someone is around a lot since that is what I was used to in my old life, and would love a home with another dog. I’m already a fast favorite here at the rescue!

Adopted!

 

Ora

Ora

I’m Ora, a 23-year old kitty. Yes, that’s not a typo, I’m really 23-years old. I am a happy and beyond sweet old gal. I’m really not too fond of other kitties, so I’d love to find a quiet home where I can just be the lone kitty who is spoiled rotten for whatever time I have left. I am looking for an adoptive home that will just let me live out my days in comfort and full of all the love I could ask for. I love my people and if I could just be in a lap all day.

To learn more about Ora, click the link to her Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page

 

 

Mindee

Mindee

My name is Mindee, and I am uber super duper beyond sweet!!! I am such a wonderful little girl, and I am so happy to be at Young at Heart. I am 12-years old, quiet (and sometimes a little shy). I am really good with other dogs and pretty much ignore cats. I am a healthy girl overall, but do have chronic skin issues due to allergies that Young at Heart is currently getting to the bottom of to see what exactly makes me itch. I enjoy spending my time snuggling and being petted, so if you need a buddy to keep you company, I’m your girl.

To learn more about Mindee, click the link to her Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page

 

 

Milo

Milo

I am a very sweet 9-year-old kitty. I am very mellow, love the company of my family, and enjoy a good snuggle. I am good with other kitties, good with my litterbox, and healthy, too. I would love to spend my days curled up next to you on the couch, watching the birds out your windows, and enjoying quiet Sunday mornings warming your lap while you drink your coffee. Are you my new family? I’d love to meet you!

To learn more about Milo, click the link to his Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page

 

Lucy

Lucy

I’m Lucy, and I am a very sweet and very snuggle one-eared lab mix! Yes, you read that right – one ear! I’m super unique and everyone wants to talk about me on walkies! I get to meet so many new friends! I am good with other mellow and respectful dogs, and am housetrained. I probably should not live with kitties. I love to lay my head in your lap to soak up your love, go for walks and car rides, and I loooove treats! I like kids, but also shouldn’t live with small ones since I can’t hear them coming up to me when I’m sleeping. Older kids that can remember that I cannot hear them coming would be just fine with me. I love love love to be your sidekick, so I would be a great dog for someone who is home a lot – I love it! I am so very sweet and cannot wait to start my new life with you!

To learn more about Lucy, click the link to her Young at Heart Pet RescueAdoption page


 

Young at Heart Pet Rescue contact links

To learn about all the dogs, that the Young at Heart Pet Rescue has available for adoption, click the following links:

Young at Heart Pet Rescue Website

Young at Heart Pet Rescue Facebook

Young at Heart Pet Rescue Twitter

Young at Heart Pet Rescue Youtube

Young at Heart Pet Rescue – Meet Our Newest Seniors!

Young at Heart Pet RescueAdopt a Dog

Young at Heart Pet RescueAdopt a Cat


 

Interactive Map of Senior Dog Rescues, Sanctuaries and Special Programs

Note: This map is presented with kind permission from Senior Pups

Click the “Brackets” on the right-side in the Map Header below to view the full-size map

Leave a Reply

